Skip to content

Blocked!

February 27, 2010

I’ve clearly tempted fate by writing about my creative groove and here I am, stuck on a number of issues.

  • Logo for the letter-blocks. Currently the name in progress is Alphablocks… the name come up in class. Maybe that’s part of the problem. No thinking on the name? This is driving me nuts the most actually. Have made a ton of sketches, nothing good that connotes blockiness and kids and AWESOME. I hate doing logos. Because I am so terrible at them.
  • Undergrad ComD Scholarship poster. This absolutely has to be done this weekend. Ashwin brought up an excellent point, that I should design a template for all the undergrad comd posters and follow it. Which is really another way of saying I should have some sort of GRAPHIC IDENTITY for these people. WHICH IS WHAT I LOVE TO DO AND AM EXCITED BY! So I really should do it, quite frankly. It would be amazing to develop one during my time here; I’m honestly not sure I have the straight up time for it.

    In the meantime, because this HAS TO BE DONE THIS WEEKEND, I want to make it a poster about the process of applying for the scholarship. (I think about the Illustrator poster I had to do for Computer Graphics that sort of was awful but I sort of salvaged at the last minute by giving it the concept of "it’s a jigsaw puzzle, make all the pieces fit: so each step was a part of the jigsaw puzzle.) And also because I have been trying to do something straight up grid-based and I just wanted to use Helvetica and it was really turning out awful, I have decided to refer to the successful Zirma book. Because that book is also about noticing and remembering, right? And people should notice the poster and remember to apply, right? RIGHT.

  • Digital Design: A Flash video about my bike ride from Greenpoint to Pratt. This is a sort of a different issue… I am not so much blocked as completely ignorant. And I don’t have the sound collage yet. Was quite waylayed by the storm in terms of renting equipment to make it happen. So I am hoping this will come out ok, esp I have this sort of personal story I am telling, but it is a question of time, which I am getting slightly frantic on.

My deep hope is that by airing these issues now I will magically be unblocked!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 5:14 pm

    Kaballah-blocks! Kablahkah!

    But if it’s marketing more toward kids than toward temurah adepts, this is the best I can do

    A-ZOCKS!

  2. Betsy permalink*
    March 3, 2010 6:54 am

    I think we’re going with a-zocks! I’m excited. It’s silly and it’s easier to work with.

    Incidentally I JUST REALIZED THAT THE TITLE OF THE POST IS BLOCKED AND I TALK ABOUT BLOCKS.

    THERE ARE DEEP STREAMS OF THOUGHT AT WORK HERE.

Leave a Reply

