Skip to content

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

February 27, 2010

So it turns out that most of my blog posts should be entitled that. Because I am passionate and get into things and then grow up a little bit and just as passionately have to disavow what I said earlier.

After reading Chasing the Perfect, which coincided perfectly with my general hatred of modernity and a grave mistrust of the hyper-love of Helvetica, I went all anti-grid on everyone, especially Rafael in Type 1. Soon after that I ate my words when I designed the cemetery safari newsletter which is pretty gridded-up (which I still quite like, though it has been critiqued, perhaps accurately, as being a bit dead. Which, of course, the absolute intended effect. Because the point is cemeteries are these crazy alive places in the middle of the city, etc.) And then I started doing the Undergrad ComD stuff and the grid became more crucial in terms of arranging text on the posters (quite simply, because I was pressed for time).

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have always been a fan of the grid in books and magazines and such, but in general in shorter things (like posters) I have generally tried to hide it a bit more. But because of time, I just did it straight it up with the undergrad posters. And now, as I am getting more and more excited about Graphic Identities, (this is the next Type 2 assignment AND Ashwin’s idea about templating the Undergrad ComD posters has got me a bit salivating about the prospect.) I am kind of coming back to this super grid structure and sans serifs a la Experimental Jetset. Just designing straight up, smart graphic identities with legs. But graphic identities can only really work if you accept a grid, and some sort of template.

It remains a mystery if you have to accept sans serifs to be into graphic identities; I feel like the work I’ve seen, not just Experimental Jetset’s, always uses them, but why?

Anyways. Here we go. Plunging back into the grid.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

