Skip to content

Wow! New portfolio getting MUCH better response.

March 29, 2010
tags:

Betsy Medvedovsky Portfolio

Wow–sent this thing out Saturday night and have already gotten two positive responses so far! Embarrassed to admit that my prior pdf portfolio was just a bunch of images packed into one file before, though I think the real thing is, I was sending people to my website, which is a bit confusing, because there’s a confusing split between design and art and weird personal projects that it’s not always easy to navigate between. (Which is fine I think–cf Merlin Mann–I am not just one thing–though the eventual goal is a self-built website that’s more easily maneuverable) So apparently making a pdf was really the way to go! Plus it’s a great opportunity for me to show off my type skills, in a fairly image heavy portfolio.

I had to go with Letter Gothic for my name though I kerned the shit out of that. I liked it more unkerned, but  I didn’t want to seem like I didn’t know what was going on, so off I went… I think that’s the biggest issue right now–once I am in control, it’s hard to be loose. I have two modes: loose + and in control, and it’s hard to integrate.

Rephotographing the work really helped; also included here are the Zirma book and the Undergrad Comd stuff which are some of my strongest things, which are not on my website yet.

I actually love how Letter Gothic looks with the cover and back images. And I think it works well with Univers.

Back cover:Betsy Medvedovsky portfolio image

One last page:

I have to say putting together in one package made it very nice for me–I really feel like I’ve developed this sort of body of work like thing–even in the ways that the photos match the prints on the front and the back cover which matches the Letter Gothic typefaces which matches OCR and Andale Mono which are used elsewhere in actual pieces….

So it really came together in the end though I really spent all week on it. And I’m happy I didn’t use some boring old headline typeface, but something that’s really me.

Finally here’s the revamped resume–finally, after many years of kicking and screaming against it, in InDesign. It’s not a reinvention of the form, but good enough for a day’s work and as a solid complement to the portfolio. I am not thrilled to be using this much sanserif in the body but at least it’s not Helvetica.

The sidebar is slightly awkward but I’m not sure how to resolve for the moment.

As much as I kick and scream against them, I think tight grids are quite productive for me. They take loud and active images and give the eye some rest once in a while and allow for unity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

