Skip to content

Pattern Making 3: Attempts with Photo-Based Patterns

April 14, 2010

I talked about trying to make a pattern out of some photos I had taken; this is the easiest thing to do–make something sweet and symmetrical.

Not crazy about the crosses in the middle, but I think the wires are really lovely.

Working with another image, I play around with using the grids to my advantage:

The grid idea carried out more fully:

Looks kind of lacy!

But this is when I abandoned this direction–it seemed like I was crossing into some sort of texture-pattern territory it didn’t necessarily make sense to go in. Plus, though I love these photos, it seemed increasingly clear that they weren’t 100 percent appropriate for the color book.

The kudzu photo especially, though, the last two patterns are based on, seems like it would yield a natural pattern quite easily, but I haven’t been able to work it out yet! Another time, I guess.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

