Skip to content

I liked the New Museum.

September 19, 2010

I’ve been thinking a lot about my general dislike of museums lately (probably because school has allowed me to run my big mouth about it a lot). I think my general reasons are fine, especially where it concerns objects which one cannot interact with properly. One thing I really DO enjoy when museums do properly–and this actually connects to the sort of public spaces I enjoy–is theatricality.

I went to the New Museum last Thursday and I have to give it up: the Museum rocks theatricality in a way I can dig. Narrow stairwells that feed into giant rooms (a very effective space manipulation trick), projections onto side buildings, an exhibit of books that you can handle (with white gloves!). I think photography generally not allowed, but below is a photograph of these ribbons taken from the entryway:

strings at the New Museumigjhglkh

strings at the New Museum

The ribbons have wishes on them that you can take and tie on to yourself. This gets a little away from museums and such, but I’d say this is fairly effective as an interactive activity, as you can see by the number of people there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

