Skip to content

Letter blocks revisited: now Alphablocks + with a modular logo

September 21, 2010

So something I never really put to rest was the letter blocks I made last year for Vis Com.

I love them, think they are great, and think they could go to market, and should certainly be a portfolio piece, but not in the stage they are in now.

There are a number of problems with the letter blocks–named at the time Azocks!–but most palpably felt was the logo, which I hated from the beginning to the end. Well, maybe not from the very beginning, but from an early point. The logo had issues on its own; moreover, I very much wanted a modular logo, which mine was just barely–one could choose color, etc.

I am revisiting this project, from this modular logo angle.

Somehow–maybe it was just the break of summer–I got my head on straight and renamed their rightful name, Alphablocks. Looking at some books by Bob Gill and Paul Rand, I also realized I’d been approaching the logo issue totally backwards. Logo/logotypes/id marks are first and foremost a formal issue. Only if you’re lucky can they sort of reflect the content. I think Prof. Zamir was pointing to this issue but I didn’t get it then.

I get it now.

Anyways: Alphablocks it is. Which quite nicely breaks up into Alpha-Blo-Cks. Which quite nicely has the symbol of the alphabet in them: ABC(s). Which could be modular elements in a logo…

Anyways here’s my thinking right now with some variations.

ModularLogos_Options-01

I am using black and white to be old school formalist. I’m leaning towards the all lower case version: crucially, it yields the most possibilities formally. This may be somewhat over-influenced by Experimental Jetset and Laurie Rosenwald, but I am happy with where this is going.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kate permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:07 pm

    Yay! I liked that name to begin with. I like where you are going with the logo, too. I got excited for you when I noticed the “lok” letter sequence because it speaks to the locking together of the blocks. I favored the figures where that letter sequence stands out more like a word. I very much like the all lower case idea, but I like these particular examples for the ‘l-o-k’ letter arrangement, and where the ‘s’ is not hanging out all alone: middle row, 2nd and 4th figures, and bottom row, 3rd figure. Nice work!

    • Betsy permalink*
      September 22, 2010 8:12 pm

      thank you, lady. good eye, re: “lok”–you should be here at my next Crit!

Leave a Reply

