Skip to content

Got tricked into reading

October 11, 2010

By the way, if anyone cares to know, one of the reasons the day has been so dumb is that I got tricked into reading theory. Which, really, is the biggest waste of my time. Not so much a statement about theory, but rather about me, and how my brain is best used. My brain just can’t handle it. If we are talking concrete, I can be quite smart and articulate, but if we’re talking about -isms and Derrida and language constructs, it’s a horrible mess of wires up there. And it’s just not clear to me that straightening them out is what I need to be doing.

I really can’t believe it. This is the one thing I didn’t want to do, spend days and days on end in the library reading people’s definitions of deconstructivism and whether or not design’s deconstructivism is consistent or not.

The whole thesis has really killed my love of reading, too. I used to read all the time and my brain would have all these great ideas. Now my brain is sighing as it takes out its pen to take notes. My brain needs to be free to fly away into the air and see where it goes!

I am going to learn from my mistakes. Tomorrow is a day of doing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

