Skip to content

Initials

November 10, 2010

Which a number of people use in corresponding with me. I’m still on full names but initials seem on the horizon for me as well.

"Full names feel too clumsy, first names feel too informal, and surnames feel too formal." (Stuart Bailey, In Alphabetical Order, quoted in Tense Relations: http://blog.linedandunlined.com/post/404937002/tense-relations)

Initials allow for the "serious informality or informal seriousness I’m after."

Interesting. I’d adjust to say that names (of any sort) feel too heavy, thudding and no names is too casual.

Right now I can’t bring myself to use initials in emails, but I’ll probably fall, and fall hard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

