Skip to content

Exformation

November 16, 2010

Keep going back to Kenya Hara and exformation.

This is how I summed it up before: Communication not by “making known” but by making understood “how little we know.”(p376)
I can’t stop thinking about this issue of narrative or story telling and if you have to have a point of view. They are two different things! But they’re related. The pickle is, I often have a point of view but no narrative. How do I find a narrative? What’s the story I can use to talk about what I want to talk about in the way I want to talk about it?

But also, we are always told to have a point of view. More and more I am thinking of exformation; rather than putting forth a point of view, asking a question. That’s how I see Hara’s concept of exform: please comment if you see it differently.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

