Skip to content

Principles of Approach: A visual communication love song manifesto

December 4, 2010
tags:

Oof! That’s some subtitle. But I’m working on it. But that bulky concatenation (my top word of the year, apparently) is what really expresses how I feel about this manifesto. (Yes: I have finally fessed up and acknowledged its manifestness. Titling helps things!)

This is the working layout:

betsy medvedovsky love song manifesto design gutter

 

It’s 18×24″ final size. It will be printed on recycled posters and possibly newspaper pages. Here’s a mock-up with some random images underneath:

betsy medvedovsky love song manifesto design gutter betsy medvedovsky love song manifesto design gutter

Text is going to be much of the time illegible, as I am conflicted about the manifesto form. Ultimately my work itself should make my principles manifest rather than my words. But it’s large, and my name (bottom right in black knock out) is purposefully more legible speaking about my ambition. And it’s fun: because this is above all a love song to graphic design and visual communication of all sorts.

Leave a Reply

