Skip to content

Working Abstract

February 2, 2011

It’s feeling pretty good. Glad I’ve finally done this.

Based on Manuel’s abstract structure, which I find quite a nice approach:

  • Sentence 1: Introduce me to your thesis, provide me with a context.
  • Sentence 2: State your thesis’ idea.
  • Sentence 3: Tell me why your thesis is important.

“In this thesis, I explore design rooted in ANTI, an operation I define as generating anything that is “identical to in form or function, but lacking, opposite or contrary in essential respects.”* In this definition, ANTI allows for a familiar context as well as room for rebellion, creating work that rides the line between experimentation and design. Indeed ANTI becomes a powerful strategy for the designer who wants to continue visually exploring while making work that still communicates.”

*Random House Dictionary

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

