Skip to content

A day late and a couple of dollars short…

March 6, 2011

Finished first draft of my thesis.
Made a big mistake and put it into InDesign.
TIMESUCK.
As my friend Katya said, “You know you’re a designer when….”

Also made a giant left turn at the conclusion. Check this out! This might all be due to Liz, who noted that it seemed like I was just fighting myself….
_______

REAL CONCLUSION

I started by saying that this thesis is not a designo-political strategy, but I will be the first to contradict myself. ANTI is about coping with the world, about creating freedom where only rules exist.

ANTI is about finding power where none exists. I have fought the term subversive from the beginning, but like everything this was a fight against myself: ANTI is indeed subversive. ANTI means working with and against the world for change, about acknowledging the way that humans are, for good and for bad, rather than ignoring it. It can mean injecting a commercial exchange with meaning and intelligence; it can mean taking your time in the crosswalk to make sure a more feartful elderly lady has time to cross; it can mean organizing a people to use nonviolence as a means of protest.

We all exist within the world with our hands, to a certain extent, tied. We can fight openly, ignoring our weakness, or we can
acknowledge our weakness and fight smart.

___

not formatting even the first draft was a huge mistake! formatting brings clarity to our ideas!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. stan permalink
    March 8, 2011 3:12 pm

    Congrats! What u gonna do now? Not a 2nd draft I hope.

    • Betsy permalink*
      March 8, 2011 4:19 pm

      a million more drafts to come. Where are you? Wanna come to NY for my show? Email me your address!

  2. March 9, 2011 1:56 pm

    OMG! I love your conclusion. you should have read this to me and Rebecca yesterday, to inspire us to FIGHT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

