Skip to content

All I want to do is read architecture theory

May 4, 2011

I don’t know why it riles me up so much, and it’s too bad that my brain does not function well enough for me to synthesize in a Truly Impressive Way, but it’s really amazing — it’s the only sort of theoretical reading I find actually productive.

Actually, I may know why it riles me so much: architecture, unlike design, must constantly confront and engage with humans, the way they live, what they want, in a way design does not have to. When you are foisting buildings into people’s neighborhoods and changing the way they live, you had better have some good reasons for it.

I believe in design’s power too, certainly, but it is a much more opt-in, opt-out system.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

